Book Review: Confessions of a High School Disaster: Chloe Snow’s Diary by Emma Chastain

Title: Confessions of a High School Disaster: Chloe Snow’s Diary by Emma Chastain

Publisher: Simon Pulse

My Rating: 4 Stars

 

Goodreads Synopsis:

In the tradition of Bridget Jones’s Diary, a lovably flawed high school student chronicles her life as she navigates the highs and lows of family, friendship, school, and love in a diary that sparkles with humor and warmth.

 

I’m Chloe Snow, and my life is kiiiiind of a disaster.

 

  1. I’m a kissing virgin (so so so embarrassing).
  2. My best friend, Hannah, is driving me insane.
  3. I think I’m in love with Mac Brody, senior football star, whose girlfriend is so beautiful she doesn’t even need eyeliner.
  4. My dad won’t stop asking me if I’m okay.
  5. Oh, and my mom moved to Mexico to work on her novel. But it’s fine—she’ll be back soon. She said so.

 

Mom says the only thing sadder than remembering is forgetting, so I’m going to write down everything that happens to me in this diary. That way, even when I’m ninety, I’ll remember how awkward and horrible and exciting it is to be in high school

 

My Review:

Let me just put this out there. This book is just like any regular YA book, a chronicle of a young girl’s life in a form of diary. However, I think it was written in a very relatable way. There were no trying too hard and it’s a very enjoyable read for anyone who’s looking for a fuss-free book.

I have read some reviews stating that this book lacks great deal of depth, but in my opinion, there are some notable points which I should highlight.

First, Chloe’s mom. You will be able to see clearly in the first few chapters that this woman is a train wreck. She is irresponsible, and has no care or whatsoever for her child who admires her very much. Every time she makes an excuse for her absence, my heart breaks for little Chloe.

Secondly, because of the very reason, I personally think she was able to learn more and grow as a better human being albeit the mistakes she commit along the way. Who doesn’t make silly mistakes? It is how one are able to learn to be better, no?

Thirdly, How Chloe stands up for herself, always. She can be a little self-obsessed but it’s remarkable how she always stands up to her bullies and rise to admit her mistakes.

Fourthly, the friendships. Oh, how I adore the string of friendships that been portrayed in this book. It’s pleasant and simply heartwarming. You really have to read it to experience what I felt.

There you go. A few highlights of special quality of this seemingly average book. Oh did I mention that it was also really funny?

Thank you for reading guys! I appreciate it very much, and thanks to Pansing Malaysia for this review copy! Till the next review, my friends!

Leave a Reply

