Book Review: What Light by Jay Asher

Title: What Light by Jay Asher

Publisher: Macmillan Children’s Book

Source: Pansing Malaysia

My Ratings: 4 Stars

Goodreads Synopsis:

Sierra’s family runs a Christmas tree farm in Oregon—it’s a bucolic setting for a girl to grow up in, except that every year, they pack up and move to California to set up their Christmas tree lot for the season. So Sierra lives two lives: her life in Oregon and her life at Christmas. And leaving one always means missing the other.

 

Until this particular Christmas, when Sierra meets Caleb, and one life eclipses the other.

 

By reputation, Caleb is not your perfect guy: years ago, he made an enormous mistake and has been paying for it ever since. But Sierra sees beyond Caleb’s past and becomes determined to help him find forgiveness and, maybe, redemption. As disapproval, misconceptions, and suspicions swirl around them, Caleb and Sierra discover the one thing that transcends all else: true love.

 

What Light is a love story that’s moving and life-affirming and completely unforgettable.

 

My review:

Once again, my sincere apologies for going missing yet again without any forewarning but I have a real good reason why. I GOT MARRIED!!! Yes, yes, The Bookynista is hitched, yo! To be fair, I was legally married to my husband but we have not completed the hindu ceremonial wedding. We planned a March wedding, therefore I didn’t even get any time to read, I mean everything came crashing, and we barely had time to breathe! So sorry for going off like that, but I certainly hope that there is nothing more between me and my books anymore, after this!

I don’t care what people say, but Christmas is my favorite time of the year. It is a time of miracle and living in a land with scorching hot season around the year, I feel magically cold on December. Everything I see is so festive, and full of glee. I go an extra mile to make myself happy on December, hence I picked up What Light by Jay Asher as one of my Christmas read.

This book is absolutely perfect for Christmas, guys. I think reading it any time other than Christmas isn’t going to bring the same magic it brought me. To be fair, let’s just say that this book is a simple, contemporary, cute Christmas read. To expect more is just going to disappoint. It’s easy to have high expectation though because the same author who wrote 13 Reasons Why, authored this too. This book revolves around Sierra who had travelled down to California with her parents because they sell Christmas trees. Unlike other teen, she doesn’t hate it; in fact she looks forward for this and has fantastic time every single time. However the business isn’t picking up for her parents and they are considering not to return next year, with that heavy thought in mind, she cherished every single moment of her time in California. She too never gets into a relationship with anyone during this time of the year; however that has changed this year when she meets Caleb.

There are a lot of happy moments in this book. I especially love her friendship with her Californian bestie – Heather. Their friendship is something I would die for. It’s also great to see how both their parents get along so well. I also particularly loved the bond Sierra shares with her parents. It’s super sweet and you can’t help but to want the same thing as well.

Caleb, Sierra’s love interest is a sweetheart. Like any other book, the boy has a troubled past and he tries to redeem his guilt by giving back to the community. Okay, so it is an insta-love and cheeeeeesy, but don’t you this we all need cheesy every now and then? I think it’s good to have that little dose of cheesy, especially in a holiday romance!

No matter how light, or sugary sweet it was, What Light was a fun and a book filled with Christmas spirit, hope and forgiveness. Pick this up when the weather is cold, while you snuggle up to your favorite blanket and a steaming cup of hot cocoa.

Thank you Pansing Malaysia for this review copy! Till the next time guys, take care!

Leave a Reply

