Book Review: Heartless by Marissa Meyer

Title: Heartless by Marissa Meyer

Publisher: Macmillan Children’s Books

Source: Pansing Malaysia

My Ratings: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️//4 stars

Goodreads Synopsis:

Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland and a favorite of the unmarried King, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, she wants to open a shop and create delectable pastries. But for her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for a woman who could be a queen.

At a royal ball where Cath is expected to receive the King’s marriage proposal, she meets handsome and mysterious Jest. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the King and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into a secret courtship.

Cath is determined to choose her own destiny. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.

 

My Review:

First of all, I’m very sorry for taking such a long break from blogging. It has been a crazy month and I am sad to say that I didn’t get much reading done on December. Not all are lost though because I have managed to take my sweet time to read the illustrated version of Harry Potter and The Philosopher’s Stone, which was impeccable!

Somewhere around November, I have finished the new Marissa Meyer’s Heartless, a book I was waiting for months since I wrapped up The Lunar Chronicles. Heartless is the prequel to Alice in The Wonderland, depicting the tale of The Queen of Hearts, and her famous command, “OFF WITH HIS HEAD!” Before she turned into such a heartless queen, Catherine was anything but cruel. Hence, you will find yourself sympathizing for her even from the beginning of the book.

“It is a dangerous thing to unbelieve something only because it frightens you.”

My favorite part of this book is the way Marissa has written about those delicious confectionaries which consist of meringues, tarts, cakes, pies and many more absolute drool-worthy delicacies. I could almost visualize those goodies materializing right in front of my eyes! Fair warning to those easily tempted by yummy descriptions: Fill your belly up before attempting this book, I mean it.

Sweets and Tarts: The Most Wonderous Bakery in All of Hearts

When I read and watch Alice in The Wonderland as a kid, all those strange stuff which happens in the Land of Hearts felt totally normal. I got accustomed to the weird setting of the book, and Heartless just made all of those beautiful strange things even richer with much extensive details. You know how some retellings alters the original story to fit the current one, Heartless only intensified everything you know of Alice in The Wonderland as a child. It’s a rare quality in retellings these days.

“These things do not happen in dreams, dear girl,’ he said, vanishing up to his neck. ‘They happen only in nightmares.’
His head spiralled and he was gone.”

I got to meet many existing characters and new ones. Of course, I squealed when I got to the part where Catherine meets Mad Hatter and participating in the tea party. The tea party but of course the highlight for me! *chuckles* I have also met The Joker who happens to be Catherine’s love interest in this book, who was such a well-written character! I have to hold on to my heart because The Joker who also known as Jest was incredibly charming. I understand why Catherine went bonkers for him because come on, who can actually resist such charm?

This book would definitely get a 5 stars rating from me if only the plot was more, and I mean 70 times faster. I am not a fan of slow paced books, and I actually built a sky high expectation for the book based on my experience with The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. I anticipated more action because I think I kind of used to get that from Marissa. However, when the story finally takes off, it escalated rather quickly. It felt like all the good stuff was crammed at the final 30% of the book, and ended too abruptly.

Albeit the shortcomings, this book will tug on your heartstring as it did mine. Catherine Pinkerton is the woman you will root for. She has big dreams for her future, and she actually works hard for it. Even as a woman of today, we are constantly questioned for our choice of careers and decisions. We are indirectly brainwashed by our kin and the society of what should we do and we should be. Although it is not entirely a bad thing, but I’d like to suffer from mistakes that I have done fully knowing that I have the power to decide instead of having other people to decide for me. The Queen of Hearts would be a very different person if only she had the right level of support and encouragement from her loved ones. If only she get to decide what she wants in life, I daresay she would have never walked that path.

“Sometimes your heart is the only thing worth listening to.”

Alright guys, that’s the end of my review to Heartless by Marissa Meyer, have you read it? If you have, please share your thoughts with me at the comments section. Thank you, Pansing Malaysia for the review copy. Till the next post guys, Toodles!

Leave a Reply

