An interview with Danika Stone- Author of All The Feels

“She’d just thrown gasoline on the fire. Now it was up to fandom to keep it burning.” – All The Feels


Not too long ago, I was drawn into picking up All The Feels because I love the concept of Fandoms. I enjoyed the book very much, and here’s my review of the book. 

Lucky me, I’ve got the opportunity to interview the author behind All The Feels- Danika Stone. Danika is extremely down to earth, and it was super fun interacting with her. 

Here’s the interview with the very beautiful Danika: 

Hi Danika, thank you so much for taking the time to do this interview, I’m very grateful. Also, you are really gorgeous!

You are the sweetest, Satthiya. Thank you! I’m thrilled to be part of the Bookynista Blog. Thank you so much for sharing the word about All the Feels.

Please tell me more about yourself. 

I’m the oldest of three kids which means I’m driven (and probably a little bit pushy.) *laughs* I’m also really self-sufficient, and I really love figuring things out. That’s partly why I fell into writing and why I love it so much! I get to be my own boss.


Have you always aspired to be a writer? 

Yes and no. Right from a young age, I loved doing creative things, but throughout my life that’s taken different routes. For many years, I danced ballet and sang in the choir. I did a fine arts degree, and worked for years as a muralist and painter. These days, writing is how I share my creativity.


What has been the inspiration for you to become a writer? 

I’m an avid reader, so stories I read that clicked with me and stuck with me for years afterward have certainly been an inspiration. Another inspiration has been finding story ideas that I felt driven to write.

Fandom is a big part of All The Feels. Which Fandom are you a part of and why? 

Oh goodness, this one changes on almost a monthly basis! Some of the bigger fandoms that I still follow are Sherlock, The 100, Mad Max Fury Road, and Star Wars: The Force Awakens. My current obsession is Stranger Things. Have you see it yet? If not, you must! (Barb is my FAVORITE.)

Why am I in fandom? I suppose it’s that I love how it brings people together from various parts of life. There’s a beautiful enthusiasm in fandom that can be sorely lacking in other venues and it’s a great place to meet people who share your interests. 

No, I haven’t. Now I have to watch it! What has inspired you to write All The Feels?


My friend, E, is @CoulsonLives online. When Agent Coulson died at the end of The Avengers, she took it on herself to start an internet campaign to bring him back and the television show Agents of Shield was the end result. @CoulsonLives is an amazing example of how fans have power over canon!

That is remarkable! Is Starveil a reflection of any franchise? Say, Star Wars?

Warning: Spoilers ahead for Star Wars: The Force Awakens, and Serenity.

As you know, I’m a big Star Wars fan, so there are definite echoes of that franchise in Starveil. One thing to note, however, is that All the Feels was written before the death of Han Solo in The Force Awakens, so any similarity is entirely accidental! My original inspiration for that scene was based on the death of Wash in Serenity. Oh my goodness, I was gutted when I saw that in the theatre! The moment stuck with me for years.

I’ve enjoyed reading the scenes from Starveil. The plot is very interesting. Will Starveil get it’s own book, like how Rainbow Rowell did with Carry on? 

Right now, there’s no plan for it, but I’d definitely keep that as a possibility for the future. I’m a Starveil fangirl for sure! *laughs* One thing you CAN do in the meantime is to read the fics that are scattered throughout the book. If you follow the links you’ll end up at different Starveil fanfics, like the ones that Liv reads.

You can also find tumblrs for the various characters. Yes! They’re really are online:

a. Liv: http://livoutloud.tumblr.com/ 

b. Xander: http://steampunkxander.tumblr.com/ 

c. Brian: http://starveilbrian1981.tumblr.com/ 

d. Joe: http://joeswoesstarveil.tumblr.com/ 

e. Kelly: http://spartangrrl.tumblr.com/ 

And here are their fanfic accounts:

a. @JoesWoes – AO3: http://archiveofourown.org/users/joes…

b. @Spartangrrl – AO3: http://archiveofourown.org/users/spar… 

c. @StarveilBrian1981 – AO3: http://archiveofourown.org/users/star… (Brian has posted no stories, but he can be found in the comments.)

d. @LivOutLoud – AO3: (Same with Liv, as she’s a vidder.) http://archiveofourown.org/users/LivO… 

Can’t wait to check those links out. Just like Liv, most of us been victimized by sudden death of our beloved characters, which character from what book has affected you as much? 

I was traumatized by The Deathly Hallows. I just couldn’t function. I think I’m okay now, but it’s one book I will NOT reread, no matter how much I loved the HP series. Ouch!

What are you working on now, can you please tell me more about it ?

In a general sense, I’m ramping up to promote my next Swoon title: Internet Famous which comes out next June. If you’re in Atlanta at the RT Convention in May, I’ll be there!

As for writing, I’ve recently finished another mystery. (I write both YA and contemporary fiction.) I’m waiting nervously for my editor to take a look at it and tell me what I should change to make it work. And while I’m waiting, I’ve been fiddling around with some more plot bunnies on the YA side of things. *laughs* No, I never stop writing.

I’m sure it’s challenging to juggle many tasks and finding time to write. How do you manage?

There’s really no “trick” to it, just discipline. I give myself a minimum word count each day and I refuse to go below it. No matter how terrible the first draft might seem, it can always be edited. If you do that for enough days in a row, you end up with a book.

What are your absolute favorite book which you don’t mind read over and over again? 

Oh my goodness, I have too many! But if I was forced to choose just ONE it would be The Time Traveler’s Wife, by Audrey Niffenegger. So perfect!

The Time Traveler’s Wife is my favorite romance book too! There’s nothing quite like it yet! 
On that note, Who is/are your favorite author(s)? Can you share with the readers on which book by this particular author you enjoyed the most? 

I always get stumped on this one, so I’m going to go with my stock answer which is that the ONLY favorite author who is on both my “Favorite Fiction” and “Favorite Non-Fiction” lists is Stephen King, so I guess he’s it. I’m not much of a horror fan, but I absolutely LOVED The Stand, and On Writing should be required reading for anyone who wants to write a novel.

Honestly though? I probably have a list of about five hundred favorite writers!

You have a way with words, and I’m a fan. Do you have any advice for aspiring writers for who’s trying to make it in the writing world?

First of all – THANK YOU! Hearing from readers like you absolutely makes every rewrite worth it. 🙂

As to advice, I’d say: Just keep writing. It’s like anything else in life: the more you practise, the easier it gets. So try not to worry about little failures and setbacks, and keep putting the pen to paper. You CAN do it!

Thank you so much for having me on the Bookynista Blog, Satthiya. It was great to talk to you!

It was simply a treat talking to Danika, I can’t thank her enough for providing me with so many exclusive insights! I hope you guys enjoyed reading her witty answers too! 

If you’d like to purchase All The Feels, please check out Bookalicious, a local indie bookstore in The Summit- Subang Jaya. The friendly owner- Leon does online deliveries too! You can also check out our local bookstores such as Popular, MPH and more to get your hands on this brilliant book! 

Till the next post guys, thank you for reading! 

Leave a Reply

