Book Review- All The Feels by Danika Stone

Title: All the Feels by Danika Stone

Publisher: Swoon Reads

My Ratings: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Goodreads synopsis:

College freshman Liv is more than just a fangirl: The Starveil movies are her life… So, when her favorite character, Captain Matt Spartan, is killed off at the end of the last movie, Liv Just. Can’t. Deal.

Tired of sitting in her room sobbing, Liv decides to launch an online campaign to bring her beloved hero back to life. With the help of her best friend, Xander, actor and steampunk cosplayer extraordinaire, she creates #SpartanSurvived, a campaign to ignite the fandom. But as her online life succeeds beyond her wildest dreams, Liv is forced to balance that with the pressures of school, her mother’s disapproval, and her (mostly nonexistent and entirely traumatic) romantic life. A trip to DragonCon with Xander might be exactly what she needs to figure out what she really wants.

My Review: 

All the Feels is a dedication for every fangirl and fanboy in the world. Only us fangirl/boys truly understand the obsession towards a fictional world. In this book, we meet Liv who is a religious Starveil fan ( Starveil, very StarWars, just sayin’) and when she was given the dead end (pun intended) of her on-screen hero, she was beyond devastated-An occurrence, all us fangirls and fanboys have been through, I’m sure.

Liv is unbelievable. I mean I can’t imagine someone who would go that length for their Fandom. Yet, I can see why she’d done that you know. Fandom is something you can’t really walk out from. You think of it constantly, and you live by quotes from the particular fandom like it’s your mantra. I know I do and my ultimate fandom is the one and only Harry Potter. As for Liv, this is her comfort zone, this is where she feels most alive.

It’s endearing to see how she strived to bring back Captain Spartan alive. I wish somebody has thought about this sooner and with the pressure of such online campaigns, our beloved authors has no choice but to bring back our most loved character back. Wishful thinking, I know.

Liv is fantastic but to me the real star of the book is Xander. Oh, how I adore this boy! I admit I am most attracted to his shameless cosplays around the town. Apart from that, I am in love with his personality. He doesn’t hold back and unleashes his feelings without any barrier, and there’s something really attractive about this quality in him. 

All in all, All the Feels is a super fun read. It shows us readers have the power to change something. It’s light and makes you giddy with so many possibilities. The romance between Xander and Liv is extremely cute and sweet, and I may have swooned in some scenes. Pick this up, and let me know what you think of this book!

Till the next post y’all! 

2 comments

  1. Great review! I’ve heard this book and unfortunately didn’t really like it. I enjoyed the representation of fandom, but I thought it wasn’t super well-balanced – like it portrayed fandom pretty negatively even though in reality there are more to it. 😛

Leave a Reply

