Book Review- The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo by Amy Schumer

Title: The Girl With A Lower Back Tattoo by Amy Schumer

Publisher: HarperCollins

My Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Goodreads Synopsis: 

The Emmy Award-winning comedian, actress, writer, and star of Inside Amy Schumer and the acclaimed film Trainwreck has taken the entertainment world by storm with her winning blend of smart, satirical humor. Now, Amy Schumer has written a refreshingly candid and uproariously funny collection of (extremely) personal and observational essays. 

In The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo, Amy mines her past for stories about her teenage years, her family, relationships, and sex and shares the experiences that have shaped who she is – a woman with the courage to bare her soul to stand up for what she believes in, all while making us laugh.
Ranging from the raucous to the romantic, the heartfelt to the harrowing, this highly entertaining and universally appealing collection is the literary equivalent of a night out with your best friends – an unforgettable and fun adventure that you wish could last forever. Whether she’s experiencing lust-at-first-sight while in the airport security line, sharing her own views on love and marriage, admitting to being an introvert, or discovering her cross-fit instructor’s secret bad habit, Amy Schumer proves to be a bighearted, brave, and thoughtful storyteller that will leave you nodding your head in recognition, laughing out loud, and sobbing uncontrollably – but only because it’s over. 

My Review: 

Guys, I have a confession. My fairy god mother is actually…Ellen Degeneres. To say that I love this woman is an understatement. I worship this woman and I’m considering to build a monument of Ellen in my lawn, and now, I’m thinking Amy Schumer ‘s monument should go right next to Ellen’s too. 

God, I love this brilliant book. It has right amount of sass, funny, raw and honest to god truth about life and love. I love how it isn’t specially polished to make Amy look all shiny and sparkly. Although, being flawlessly imperfect is Amy’s forté.
I go on YouTube regularly to watch stand up comedies by famous funny people such as Ellen Degeneres, Russel Peters, Kevin Hart and of course our very own Amy. It’s my favorite kind of comedy and I love how Amy wrote about her struggles to make it big in the world of stand-up. I definitely never thought that there’s so much of work involved to be funny and famous at the same time. Yet, I don’t understand why didn’t it surprise me. Success is only sweet when you earn it with your own sweat and blood. 

I also loved how she was brutally honest about her imperfect family, and how it is completely fine to have a broken family. I can’t imagine that it’s easy to open up about something so vulnerable from her childhood whether it’s for laugh sake, or not. 

This book is a smooth sail for me. I didn’t suffer from any slump because sometimes non-fiction does that to me. It was mostly hilarious, and a little like getting a punch to your gut kind of read. 
She has discussed widely about sexual & domestic abuse in this book. One of my favorite topic is how she embraced her body and indirectly instilled the subject of body positivity. It takes a lot to be absolutely confident and comfortable in your skin, an attribute I still struggle to embrace, as the whole universe already know. Heh. 

There’s also a chapter where Amy discussed about the necessity of gun control in U.S, so that we can prevent innocents from being victimized by some psycho path who thinks it’s completely okay to murder a class of first grader. I think it’s important to voice out your concerns when you’re at the right place. I believe that when you’re in a place where your voice can be heard, you shouldn’t waste the opportunity. Even if it affects your fame. 

Thank you Amy for giving me 300 pages worth of laughter, flinches and ugly sobs. I love this book and I highly recommend everyone to pick this one up. I adore Amy for all her funny quirks, and don’t-fuck-with-me attitude. She might not gonna like it, but when I finally see her, I’ll give her the biggest hug and talk her ears off. She might pepper spray me, but it’s okay! Never change, Amy, never!

Thank you Harper Reach for the copy. 

Thank you for reading guys! Till the next post, love you all! 

Leave a Reply

