Book Review- Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Title: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo 

Publisher: Henry Holt & Company

My Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Goodreads Synopsis:

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…
A convict with a thirst for revenge

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager

A runaway with a privileged past

A spy known as the Wraith

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes 
Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first. 

My Review:

Being in the book club I am in (Mybibliomaniacs), there is no escaping the magical world created by Leigh Bardugo. I remember how Amirah constantly murmurs the word Grisha like it’s her tag line and there are some fanatics in the club (I’m talking about you Mimie, Suyaaa) who might actually shower you with hugs and kisses if you’d give this book a shot. There is an actual SoC cult in my book club and now I know why. 

The premise of this book is so dark, just like it’s cover. (Have you seen the cover by the way? Simply brilliant, isn’t it? Okay, let’s get back to the review.) I can’t help but to imagine the whole plot like a Tim Burton movie, everything faded, or in black and white. I also feel very unsafe just by reading the activities being carried out in the city of Ketterdam. I definitely can’t see myself living there, surrounded by gangs of mobs or murderers. 

I have to give it to Leigh Bardugo for giving us such a memorable characters in the book. We have Kaz Brekker- the ruthless and expert thief who will go to any extend to make good money. Kaz is no doubt dreamy, he is the ultimate bad boy of all girls fantasy and he has a pretty sickening backstory which I absolutely adore. 

“Men mock the gods until they need them, Kaz.”

Inej, the wraith- who appears from nowhere, executes missions like a ninja and oh, she is also my favorite character from the SoC! 

“Besides, she was the Wraith – the only law that applied to her was gravity, and some days she defied that, too.”

Nina- the heart render who’s a Grisha has some pretty impressive gifts which aren’t approved by Matthias- a possible love interest and a loyal soldier. 

“She wouldn’t wish love on anyone. It was the guest you welcomed and then couldn’t be rid of.” 

Jesper who has sharp aims and are pretty handy when it comes to carrying out mission. We also have Wylan who’s discovering his own identity and has a knack of creating demos. 

“Kaz leaned back. “What’s the easiest way to steal a man’s wallet?”

“Knife to the throat?” asked Inej.

“Gun to the back?” said Jesper.

“Poison in his cup?” suggested Nina.

“You’re all horrible,” said Matthias.” 

Six of them trying to achieve an impossible heist in of the most horrendous land. Will they make it? 

One of my few issues with SoC is how hard it was for me to sync with the terminologies used in this book. I am aware that it’s common to come across such terms in fantasy themed book, but I had a very difficult time getting used to those. It has also unfortunately messed with my understanding of the world building. For the first half of the book, I gotta re-read certain paragraphs again and again.

Secondly, the age of these characters. They seemed and sounded very mature but no matter how hard I try, I can’t accept that they are only between 16 or 17 years old. Hell, I would think it’s even impossible for them to be 21 judging from their mannerism. Some of my friends think that Ketterdam has really toughen them up making them seem very mature. Haha! 

To me the actual action took place much much later in the book. I’m not usually very patient when the story doesn’t take off like within 100 pages, but thanks to Bardugo’s powerful way of story telling, I managed to soldier on. Boy, was I in for a surprise. When the action actually took place, I was instantly hooked on EVERY. SINGLE. THING. 

“No Mourners.

No Funerals.” 

Everything happened in blink of an eye. To me it was like watching a very good movie and all the power-packed goodness took off in one go. In Hollywood language, Six of Crows is the Young Adult version of The Expendables. The last 150 pages of SoC is why I will be picking up it’s sequel- Crooked Kingdom very soon! 

Thank you for reading my review of Six of Crows guys. Hope you guys enjoyed it. If you have read SoC, I would love to hear your thoughts of the book! Love you guys! 

Leave a Reply

