Book Review- Fly On The Wall by E. Lockhart

Title: Fly On The Wall by E. Lockhart

Publisher: Hot Key Books

Source: Pansing Singapore 

My Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️

Goodreads Synopsis:
At the Manhattan School for Art and Music, where everyone is “different” and everyone is “special,” Gretchen Yee feels ordinary. She’s the kind of girl who sits alone at lunch, drawing pictures of Spider-Man, so she won’t have to talk to anyone; who has a crush on Titus but won’t do anything about it; who has no one to hang out with when her best (and only real) friend Katya is busy.

One day, Gretchen wishes that she could be a fly on the wall in the boys’ locker room–just to learn more about guys. What are they really like? What do they really talk about? Are they really cretins most of the time?

Fly on the Wall is the story of how that wish comes true. 

My Review:

It’s hard to believe that this YA Contemporary is a work of E.Lockhart. I don’t mean it in a bad way or anything but I can’t imagine her producing something as light-hearted as this one. I still remember the time I was bawling my eyes out when I was reading We Were Liars by her, experiencing one of the most heart wrenching moments in my reading life. 

As I said before, this book is a fun little contemporary, it makes you laugh which is also one of my favorite attributes of the book. 

This cute book is set in an art school where everyone embraces their individuality and being normal is so out of style. We meet Plain Jane Gretchen Yee who battles personal dilemma with her family, yearns to find out what Titus- the lanky but very hot boy thinks about her. 

Gretchen is fascinated by Spider-Man and her arts are heavily influenced by the superhero too. This however doesn’t please her teacher who isn’t afraid to embarrass Gretchen in front of the whole class. She struggles to find her identity, or has she already found one? 

Gretchen wants one thing and one thing only. She wants to be a fly on the wall at the boys locker room. Of course, she had no idea that her wish is about to come true.

If you’re looking for a simple and fast read, this book is perfect. The plot was just alright for me because I kept comparing it to We Were Liars. It didn’t blow my mind nor was it very memorable. 

However, there are some scenes from the book which are truly hilarious! I loved the way Gretchen thinks, sometimes. 

Also, I didn’t know what’s Bean Curd Babies, but I do now. Thanks to E. Lockhart!

Thank you Pansing Singapore for the review copy! 
Till the next post guys, love you all! 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

