Book Review- The Marble Collector by Cecelia Ahern

Title: The Marble Collector by Cecelia Ahern

Publisher: Harper

Source: Harper Reach

My Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️

Goodreads Synopsis:

A forgotten childhood. A discovered life.
What if you only had one day to find out who you really were?

When Sabrina Boggs stumbles upon a mysterious collection of her father’s possessions, she discovers a truth where she never knew there was a lie. The familiar man she grew up with is suddenly a stranger to her.

An unexpected break in her monotonous daily routine leaves her just one day to unlock the secrets of the man she thought she knew. A day that unearths memories, stories and people she never knew existed. A day that changes her and those around her forever.

The Marble Collector is a thought-provoking novel about how the most ordinary decisions we make can have the most extraordinary consequences for how we live our lives. And how sometimes it’s only by shining on a light on someone else, that you can truly understand yourself.

My Review:

Cecelia Ahern has a knack of sucking you in to her world. This book is not an exception. Told in two perspectives -Sabrina Boggs and her father- Fergus Boggs. I especially liked Fergus’ backstory, especially the ones he shared with his huge family. He has about 5 brothers, a tough Ma, and an okay Step-Da. Growing up, there is very little to spare for all the children, and that includes a place to sleep. I took a break to count my blessings in between. Ha-ha!

To be honest, I have never thought some one could be as fascinated as Fergus over marbles. I remember collecting about twenty over pretty marbles, and I still remember how my craze over marbles depleted when my parents gave me some other toys to play with. Fergus’ fascination towards marbles only grew over the years and thanks to that passion of his, he secured a rather special collectable marbles. There’s a problem with this though- his passion is carefully concealed from his wife and daughter.

His daughter-Sabrina is an exhausted mom. She is also trying to take care of her father in the process. But sometimes, everything is just too overwhelming. Oh, and, she has this condition where she has to constantly remind herself to breathe. One day, she received a mysterious package. Little did she know that she was about to open up a Pandora box and a lifetime of secrets.

One of the part I enjoyed the most is when Cecelia explained about the collection of marbles acquired by Fergus.Not forgetting there’s also a part where she wrote about the making of these gorgeous marbles. Vividly explained, I practically see them materialising before my eyes.

However, the pace of the book is rather slow for me. It is quite unusual because I usually find her book easy to dive into. Sabrina’s voice was a stranger to me. It’s sad that I can’t exactly share her woes or sob along her because we are simply not connected. I was surprised that I was more connected to Fergus compared to her, I know! I was shocked too!

This book teaches us few but important lessons of life. It highlights why we should always be honest about our passion. It is more important to be honest to your partner about your passion. If you choose to keep it in the dark, be prepared to regret for a long time, not forgetting to lose yourself in the process.

Thank you Harper Reach for the copy!

 

Leave a Reply

