Book Review- Quintana of Charyn (Lumatere Chronicles #3) by Melina Marchetta

Title: Quintana of Charyn ( The Lumatere Chronicles)Publisher: –

My Ratings: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Goodreads Synopsis: There’s a babe in my belly that whispers the valley, Froi. I follow the whispers and come to the road . . .

Separated from the girl he loves and has sworn to protect, Froi must travel through Charyn to search for Quintana, the mother of Charyn’s unborn king, and protect her against those who will do anything to gain power. 

But what happens when loyalty to family and country conflict? When the forces marshalled in Charyn’s war gather and threaten to involve the whole of the land, including Lumatere, only Froi can set things right, with the help of those he loves. 

My Review: 

Quintana of Charyn is the third and final installment of The Lumatere Chronicles. Just like the first 2 books, this definitely didn’t disappoint.

In this, we are following Froi on his journey of searching For Quintana, Finnikin on his journey of retrieving Froi back from the cursed land of Charyn, Quintana on her survival of keeping her baby alive and discovering many other secrets. 

Froi is split into two. His loyalty to his Queen & King of Lumatere or to save the cursed Charyn where his blood sings?  

‘Land?’ Froi whispered. ‘You’re giving them land? I’m not worth the valley.’ ‘You’re worth a kingdom,’ Finnikin said, turning back to the crowd.”

I especially loved Isaboe’s perspective in this book. The transition from Evanjalin to Queen Isaboe is heartwarming to see. I always loved her for quick-wit and her swift ways of making decisions. 

Needless to say, the responsibility that she’s bearing for her kingdom is overwhelming yet, she’s composed when it comes to ruling. Also, the romance between Isaboe & Finnikin is just Ughhhhhhh… too good! 

“What if she’s all I give you in this life of ours, my love?” she asked quietly. 

“Then I’ll shout at the goddess in fury,” he said fiercely. “I’ll beg to know why I’ve been given so much when other men have so little.” 

Speaking of romance, I could not get enough of Lucian & Phaedra’s love-hate relationship. I live for the angst between them! I’ve grown to love Phaedra in this book, and thank you Marchetta for writing about her in good measure in this final book.  

“Do you love me?’ he asked instead. ‘Because if you don’t, I’d wait until you did. I’d wait weeks and months and years.” 

…and finally we have come to Quintana. The wild and crazy Princess who is now carrying Charyn’s curse breaker. Once again, I love how Quintana isn’t the typical heroin who’s portrayed as a demure and gentle lady. I applaud Marchetta for bringing us this twisted princess with multiple personalities. 

I have to emphasize about the romance between Quintana and Froi. Although they didn’t stay together for long but that brief romance was simply fantastic. Melina Marchetta has a knack for romantic to die-for words, I daresay! 

“Our bodies aren’t strangers,’ he said, his voice ragged. ‘Our spirits aren’t strangers’. He held her face in his hands. ‘Tell me what part of me is stranger to you and I’ll destroy that part of me.’

And she wept to hear his words.” 

I have to say that this chronicles contains the most satisfying ending anyone could ever ask for. Im gonna miss this world so much! So glad I picked this enchanting series (after months of Suraya’s urging) and now I will do my part in making sure others to pick this one up too. 

Till the next post guys, Ta-ta!

Leave a Reply

