Book Review- Froi of the Exiles (Lumatere Chronicles #2) by Melina Marchetta

Title: Froi of the Exiles ( The Lumatere Chronicles #2) by Melina Marchetta

 Edition : Kindle

My Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Goodreads Synopsis

Blood sings to blood, Froi . . . 

Those born last will make the first . . . 

For Charyn will be barren no more. 

Three years after the curse on Lumatere was lifted, Froi has found his home… Or so he believes…

Fiercely loyal to the Queen and Finnikin, Froi has been trained roughly and lovingly by the Guard sworn to protect the royal family, and has learned to control his quick temper. But when he is sent on a secretive mission to the kingdom of Charyn, nothing could have prepared him for what he finds. 

Here he encounters a damaged people who are not who they seem, and must unravel both the dark bonds of kinship and the mysteries of a half-mad Princess.

And in this barren and mysterious place, he will discover that there is a song sleeping in his blood, and though Froi would rather not, the time has come to listen.

Gripping and intense, complex and richly imagined, Froi of the Exiles is a dazzling sequel to Finnikin of the Rock, from the internationally best-selling and multi-award-winning author of Looking for Alibrandi, Saving Francesca, On the Jellicoe Road and The Piper’s Son.

My Review: 

God, I don’t even know where to start. To call this book wonderful is an understatement, it is definitely beyond all the praises I can bestow upon this book. To be honest, I went in with sky high expectation because I loved Finnikin of the Rock so much. I can now say that Froi of the Exiles is the much, much better than the first book. 

If you’ve read Finnikin, you’d know why I hate Froi so much, but it’s beautiful how Marchetta redeemed his character through this second installment. We are introduced to the infamous kingdom – Charyn, the arch enemy of Lumatere. One day, a Charynite appeared in Mont, begging for a Lumaterean to be sent as an assassin – and that assassin is Froi. And, oh boy! The adventures he’s about to see and the secrets he’s about to unravel, and the kind of answers he’s about to bring to the land of Charyn! 

There’s so many wonderful characters in here that I’ve grown to love. Although it’s a little overwhelming to remember all their names and backstories, but I managed because Marchetta has the flair for making the most bleak bit of stories interesting. 

Revelation after revelation almost in every chapter, it got me riled up every time. Sometimes, the revelations are so ugly, I can’t help but to flinch and wince throughout the book. Sometimes I forgot that it’s fictional. Heh. 

I thought I was head over heels for Evanjalin until I met Quintana. She is the epitome of strength in the face of adversity. Initially, I was hoping for a kickass Quintana, well, this Quintana is perfect. You’d know what I mean when you read this book. 

You don’t have to worry about the plot of this book, because Marchetta has written the best possible plot. Even the world setting isn’t hard to get into. All you have to worry is if you will get enough sleep to sit up and finish this book. 

I’m not sure how to review this book without divulging and spoiling anything important because Froi answers so many unanswered questions. If you are curious and a big fan of Fantasy, I will recommend this extraordinary series! 

Also, a big thank you to The Suraya from MYbibliomaniacs family for relentlessly recommending this series to us. I think it’s time this underrated series to receive higher attention from all fantasy lovers! 

Thank you guys for reading, I will see you again in my next post! Love y’all! 

 

Leave a Reply

