Book Review- Harry Potter and The Cursed Child by J.K Rowling

Title: Harry Potter and The Cursed Child by J.K Rowling

Publisher: Little Brown

My Ratings: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Goodreads Synopsis: Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places. 

My Review

You know the familiar sensation that just envelopes you and you know you are at right where you belong? This book was all that for me. I know I might sound over dramatic but when I was reading the beginning of the book, my tears actually flowed. I was punching my bed because all those familiar emotions came right back to me and everything felt so overwhelming. As a Potterhead, this was an excellent tribute because all we want is just another story from the world. 

I understand how the plot isn’t up to everyone’s preference but let me tell you, life ain’t a fairytale and being Harry Potter, there are just too many war scars and haunting memories continues to linger him. I am okay with his mid-life crisis. I like seeing him dealing with troubled teenage son.  

The trio’s appearance aren’t that epic but it has introduced us to the kind of adults they’ve grown into. Ambitious and high achieving Hermione is where she suppose to be and Ron is as dorky and reliable as he can be. 

Judging from their past experience with life, you’d thought they have incredible children but oh well, oh well, Look at what we have! We have James who is a little too similar as James Potter himself and lily who’s a spit image of Ginny. But, how about Albus who always felt a little odd? How about Albus who never felt belonged? How about Albus whose best friend is Scorpius Malfoy? 

I love the concept of Time Turner and the fact that I could actually be at some magical epical locations. I also love the idea of Albus being able to meet many (dead) legends in this play. 

However, the best part of the book was how the alternate universe took place when someone changed something in the past. You get to see alternate Hermione, alternate Ron, alternate *cough* Snape and how they are surviving in that dark world. It teaches you one thing. Things happen for a reason and there’s nothing you can do about it. 

There’s so much potential in this story. In my opinion, you can make 3 books out of this plot alone but you gotta take what you gotta take aite? 

This book is in a script format, and it didn’t irritate me at all. To each their own I guess. Have you read Harry Potter and The Cursed Child? How did you find it? Let me know in the comment section! 

2 comments

  1. I loved it too! And I agree with your comment about seeing them facing mid life crises. People said they were disappointed to see Harry act less like a hero (and more of a paranoid parent), but they keep forgetting we missed 19 years after the Battle of Hogwarts and a lot of things have changed!

    Nice review Satt! 😀

Leave a Reply

