BOOK REVIEW- CARRY ON BY RAINBOW ROWELL

download

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

St. Martin’s Griffin

My Ratings: 5/5

Goodreads Synopsis: Simon Snow just wants to relax and savor his last year at the Watford School of Magicks, but no one will let him. His girlfriend broke up with him, his best friend is a pest, and his mentor keeps trying to hide him away in the mountains where maybe he’ll be safe. Simon can’t even enjoy the fact that his roommate and longtime nemesis is missing, because he can’t stop worrying about the evil git. Plus there are ghosts. And vampires. And actual evil things trying to shut Simon down. When you’re the most powerful magician the world has ever known, you never get to relax and savor anything.

Carry On is a ghost story, a love story, a mystery and a melodrama. It has just as much kissing and talking as you’d expect from a Rainbow Rowell story — but far, far more monsters.

My Review:

I am still raw from just finishing possibly one of the best work from Rainbow. It’s honestly hard to believe that she has created this whole universe and a masterpiece of work. It’s too beautiful; I can’t even start to explain how I felt while I was reading this book. Let me just dive in, okay guys?

anigif_optimized-6608-1439900294-6

Many are going to feel that this book resembles Harry Potter a little too much. It was a similar experience for me too. It feels like I am getting a spin off to J.K Rowling’s HP. You will see some characters who resembles characters from HP. You will see Harry, Hermione, Dumbledore, Draco, McGonagal and etc.

daniel-radcliffe-birthday-july-23-2013-harry-potter-gifs-wand

BUT GUYS, TRUST ME, THIS BOOK IS EVERYTHING!

The story is pretty fast paced, an easy page turner like the rest of Rainbow’s work. Set in a magical universe, Simon Snow- according to his evil roommate, is the worst chosen one ever. I’ve never seen any SPECIAL CHOSEN ONE as clueless as Simon. But I guess, it is one of his best qualities. He also have a best friend (CUE: HERMIONE) who helps him to figure out spells and solving problems and issues which threatens the magical realms. There’s so many things going on all at once, but Rainbow did a great job unveiling layers and layers of stories to give us a better understanding.

What I love most about this book is- No matter how similar it is to HP, this book is GOOD ON IT’S OWN. The plot & twists plays a major part in carrying the story. You also get to see some creatures you came to love in other fantasy books- Dragon, trolls, vampires and etc and also a different take on them.

tumblr_mi4n9i4a1Y1rdt8nno1_500
                          Remembering Dobby.

Also, I ABSOLUTELY LOVED THE WORDS SHE USED FOR SPELLS! Not only it’s in English, it’s funny and it makes sense.

And oh oh, before I forgot. I adored the romance. Like OMG. It’s too sweet and cheesy and everything Rainbow is famous about is there. I LOVE IT! I tried really hard not to squeal in front of my parents as I read. IT’S THAT CUTE! *EEEEEP!*

12748877

My only complain about this book is that, it’s not enough. It ended too soon for my liking.  It has so much of potential and backstories that you could work on. You should explore and give us more. I DEMAND FOR A SEQUEL (even a prequel will do), RAINBOW, OR MAY BE TWO! PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE??!!

Most Desirable Character

TYRANNUS BASILTON PITCH.

A work of perfection. I love him to bits! He is funny and adorable (at least in my head, he is!), that I can’t get enough of him!

 

Most Non-Desirable Character

Agatha, and since it’s a new story, I will leave it to you to go and find out why can’t I stand her.

If you have any doubts if this book will be as good as Rainbow’s other work, please don’t. It’s amazing and I believe you will enjoy it as much as I did.

Leave a Reply

