BOOK REVIEW- TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD BY HARPER LEE

51grMGCKivL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee

Hachette Book Group Grand Central Edition

My Ratings: 5/5

Goodreads Synopsis: The unforgettable novel of a childhood in a sleepy Southern town and the crisis of conscience that rocked it, To Kill A Mockingbird became both an instant bestseller and a critical success when it was first published in 1960. It went on to win the Pulitzer Prize in 1961 and was later made into an Academy Award-winning film, also a classic.

Compassionate, dramatic, and deeply moving, To Kill A Mockingbird takes readers to the roots of human behavior – to innocence and experience, kindness and cruelty, love and hatred, humor and pathos. Now with over 18 million copies in print and translated into ten languages, this regional story by a young Alabama woman claims universal appeal. Harper Lee always considered her book to be a simple love story. Today it is regarded as a masterpiece of American literature.

My Review:

Have you been dead wrong about a book? A book you thought you will never enjoy but after several years, you decided to give it a shot anyway, AND THEN YOU REALIZE THAT IT IS MIND BLOWING? Yeap, this book did that to me.

Credit goes to Klux from @b.a.c.a though, because I picked up this book from her place and she convinced me that this book is indeed, great. Reluctantly, I did, and I’m glad I took her advice. This book was simply brilliant!

This book follows Scout-the narrator I believe, her brother Jem and their father Atticus- A lawyer who will defend a colored man who was charged on Rape attempt. I did not expect that this story was in a child’s voice, because I was expecting that it will be filled with hard-to-fathom-jargons and what not. It’s a nice change, and it was pretty easy to understand.

As innocent as it is; Eg: Jem, Dill, Scout hunting down Boo Radley and the rest of their summer adventures, this story isn’t as simple as it seem to be.

Set in the era of Great Depression, we have the opportunity to see how caste and racial segregation takes place in the book. I particularly loved the court scenes; the case unraveling bit by bit was my favorite of all. Atticus Finch is simply amazing in the court!

There’s a lot of good values that has been taught to Jem & Scout by Atticus and other characters, and I am not at all surprised at why this book is a required reading for school. I wish it was a required reading for us-Malaysians too.

tumblr_n7907dxrF61rpcl4mo1_500

There’s a sequel to this book- Go Set A Watchman, but I think I will just put it on hold.

Most Desirable Character

Atticus Finch- He loves to read and a fair man. A man who do not discriminate and a man who would even give up his life to save anyone. I love him.

Most Non-Desirable Character

Bob Ewell. Just no.

This book reminded me of THE HELP BY KATHRYN STOCKETT who also tells a story about racial discrimination. The court case dwells in a somewhat similar subject, and I do not wish to probe further because if you are reading my review, I strongly urge you to pick up the book right now. All I can say is that I am devastated at how a color could be loathed so much. Aren’t we all equal? Aren’t we all humans?

3 comments

Leave a Reply

