BOOK REVIEW – SIMON VS THE HOMO SAPIENS AGENDA BY BECKY ALBERTALLI

blog simon

Simon Vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Penguin Edition

My Ratings: 5/5

Goodreads Synopsis: Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.
With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met. 

My Review: 

I’ve joined a Malaysian book community called –Mybibliomaniacs and it has been such an enriching experience. As of late, few of them have been raving about this awesome book on the above. Naturally, I have to grab it and see it for myself and oh boy, true to their words, this book has been such a delightful read.

The best part of the book is that it is extremely fast paced. It doesn’t dwell on anything boring, so you just tend to turn the pages effortlessly unlike some other stories.

Simon is such an ordinary boy with lovable character. He is extra adorable when he thinks he is cynical. I love how he is not the JOCK but just an EXTRA in one of the school plays.

The e-mails between Blue & Simon are remarkably awesome. I am a fan of stories like that, such as Attachments by Rainbow Rowell & Love Rosie by Cecelia Ahern.

I really love Simon’s family. It’s interesting how they all watch The Bachelorette together! It’s funny because my mother and I are big fans of reality shows. We used to watch The Bachelor together. Now, we are watching Survivor, ANTM and some other TV Shows. Usually in books, the family is the ultimate screw-ups, this book is a refreshing change. Not everyone would be so invested in their child’s life, and I just adore his parents so, very much.

I also want to go to Simon’s high school, and be a part of the play. It reminded me of my own experience in drama club and how much fun I used to have. It’s also really nice to see both students and teachers actively advocate ZERO TOLERANCE POLICY in the school.

Most Desirable Characters

One of my favorite characters is definitely BLUE. His sweet, perfect English sends me shooting stars, and like Simon, I am hopelessly attracted to him. Figuring out who he is, is half of the fun. I figured it out halfway but I had my doubts. Once the big revelation happened, I could not keep myself from smiling. JUST SO SATISFYING!

Bieber, the dog is also extremely charming and I love how Becky explained the dog’s thrilling expressions every time he sees someone he loves!

Many would not agree, but I really sympathize with Leah. I think it’s just unfair how she was stripped off many social events and my heart just aches for her.

Most Non-Desirable Characters

This goes without saying- Martin is just a plain jerk. It is not OKAY to put someone in a spot like that. Nuff said.

By the time I finished reading this book (took me 1 day by the way), my heart just swells with so much feels. It was so good, I just can’t!

lot-of-feelings

If you are looking for something hilarious and fluffy at the same time, you should totally read this book.

Leave a Reply

