Book Review of Perfect Match- Jodi Picoult

Synopsis from Goodreads: 

In the course of her everyday work, career-driven assistant district attorney Nina Frost prosecutes child molesters and works determinedly to ensure that a legal system with too many loopholes keeps these criminals behind bars. But when her own five-year-old son, Nathaniel, is traumatized by a sexual assault, Nina and her husband, Caleb, a quiet and methodical stone mason, are shattered, ripped apart by an enraging sense of helplessness in the face of a futile justice system that Nina knows all too well. In a heartbeat, Nina’s absolute truths and convictions are turned upside down, and she hurtles toward a plan to exact her own justice for her son — no matter the consequence, whatever the sacrifice.

My ratings: 4/5

perfect-match-by-jodi-picoult

Tips: This is once again, a very typical but powerful work by Picoult. You can choose to skip this but the emotional value isn’t the same unless your experience as you turn the page. Read if you enjoyed Handle With Care.

This is not only a story of Motherhood. This is a story of innocence and how you might lose it in split of seconds. What would you do if you’ve discovered that your child has been hurt so bad, and you weren’t there to save him? I am not a mother yet, sometimes I don’t get what Nina is doing to protect her child who is already hurt. Like Caleb, I am equally perplexed at her actions and very confused.

But Nathanial, dear dear Nathanial. He is so precious. He is so confused and at the same time so loved. I cringed when he was hurt, when he was so clueless. That poor boy who I cried along with. I loved Nathanial’s character like no other in this book. He was such a treasure.

Otherwise, I am not a big fan of Caleb or Nina. I applaud Nina’s reckless courage which I have no clue whether it was a right action or the opposite. Because as I said, I’m not a mother yet. Although right now I felt that what she did was wrong, she could have waited and have a little more patience. But in the future I’m not sure how would I feel. Things seem different when you are a mother, and I’m pretty sure my opinion would differ then.

Then again, I can’t imagine my own child or any in this case going through the traumatic experience that Nathanial did. Can you?

A replication of other Picoult story but with an excellent plot and a powerful message.

 

Leave a Reply

