Starting a New Book Is a Challenge, Isn’t It?

I have a condition that is so severe. I can’t start a new book without putting in hours of thought. Sometimes, I will dwell in sorrows or in the Bookish land they call it, “Book Hangover”. But sometimes, I just can’t bring myself to decide to pick one book and start reading. It’s that easy and that hard. (quoting Neil Gaiman)

book hangover

On bad days, it’ll take me 1 or 2 days to actually figure out what would I like to read next. I have some prominent names in my stash but to decide on one is nothing but torture! I have a series of filtering before I finally decide, namely, if I’ve just completed a Jodi Picoult’s book, I would never want to touch another Picoult’s book maybe for weeks. I need time to heal from all the emotional trauma that I have came across in the book. If I just complete a Neil Gaiman’s book, I can’t bear to touch another one because I want to ponder longer about the book I’ve just read and have my memories lingering around it. As I said, it’s that easy and that hard.

I’ve just finished Perfect Match by Jodi Picoult. It’s very heart wrenching. I felt close to the characters and so I want to mourn and dwell for a longer time. That’s just me.So to finally start a new book is not only challenging but also very tormenting especially because I can’t go a long time without reading.

What about you guys? How do you decide on your next read? Share with me guys. Who knows? It might help me to be much more decisive in the future. Have a great day all!

2 comments

  1. After finishing a book, I always feel as though that book was so good (unless it wasn’t, but I usually don’t wind up finishing ones that aren’t good) that no other book could ever compare. Then about a day or two later I still have the empty feeling, but I can move on and try to fill it with a new read. Usually it depends on my mood. I was reading the second installment in the Divergent series, Insurgent, but it was getting boring and I was sick of reading dystopian. So I moved on to Eleanor and Park and immensely enjoyed it. Now I have picked up Ender’s Game. But I wouldn’t have been able to read Ender’s Game right after stopping Insurgent. I needed a change of pace.

    • Thank you so much for your thought! I’m glad I’m not alone in this. I felt the same way about Insurgent, I loved the concept (slightly more than Hunger Games), but couldn’t enjoy as much as I did Divergent. Therefore, I put that book away, and continue with another book. E&P was so wonderful and to date I can’t find someone who actually hates the book. It was so so good, I can’t get enough of it!

      Currently I’m back to Gaiman, after a good two days of gap. I made the right choice though, am enjoying it thoroughly.

Leave a Reply

