Book Review-Magnus Chase and The Sword of Summer

5162WSS0S5L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Magnus Chase and The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordon

Puffin Books

My Ratings: 5/5

Goodreads Synopsis: Magnus Chase has always been a troubled kid. Since his mother’s mysterious death, he’s lived alone on the streets of Boston, surviving by his wits, keeping one step ahead of the police and the truant officers.
One day, he’s tracked down by an uncle he’s never met – a man his mother claimed was dangerous. His uncle tells him an impossible secret: Magnus is the son of a Norse god.

The Viking myths are true. The gods of Asgard are preparing for war. Trolls, giants and worse monsters are stirring for doomsday. To prevent Ragnarok, Magnus must search the Nine Worlds for a weapon that has been lost for thousands of years.

When an attack by fire giants forces him to choose between his own safety and the lives of hundreds of innocents, Magnus makes a fatal decision.
Sometimes, the only way to start a new life is to die.

My Review:

I am not at all ashamed to say this. This is my first book by Uncle Rick. I wished that I could have picked this up sooner but oh well, better late than never I guess. I also should admit that I picked this up because the background story is of NORSE MYTHOLOGY, and I am pretty sure I will bump into LOKI (Tom!) somewhere in there. Heh.

tumblr_m7zs9sAQSC1rsy50k.gif

This book is packed with rich myth stories and was also a driving factor for me to read on. As a reader I felt like I am on a voyage along with them. Riordan’s writing is undoubtedly attractive and it speaks to you and demands your attention. I’m serious. If you don’t believe me, read the first chapter. Go on now.

This book also left me feeling remorseful of all the time I declined Percy Jackson. Hmm. However, you can read this one without reading Percy Jackson series but I was told that I would appreciate more details in this book if I have read the series because apparently there are certain connections here and there.

The action bit of the book is definitely the best part. All the running, climbing, flying and slaying left me exasperated, and that’s why I would definitely recommend this book to everyone around me.

Most Desirable Character

Blitzen a.k.a Blitz for his remarkable fashion sense. Nuff said.

Most Non-Desirable Character

tumblr_m726xuQ0701rsy50k.gif

Thor. ATTITUDE ADJUSTMENT- That’s what I would recommend to Thor. You don’t send off someone to fight your war! Many other characters in this book has that done too, but I am more affected by Thor because of my expectation of Thor was based on The Avengers. OH WELL.

Leave a comment